The John Butch Driving School, Inc. has served beginning drivers of all ages in this area since 1992. The John Butch Driving School, Inc. offers a quality education to all students with personal attention to their driving experience.
Current Ohio state laws requires anyone under the age of 18 who wishes to obtain a driver’s license must complete a state certified course of instruction consisting of a minimum of 24 classroom hours and 8 hours of individual instruction behind the wheel. Additionally, each person must receive 50 hours of training from his or her parents or guardians, with 10 hours of experience being night driving. Students may begin their classroom drivers’ training when they reach the age of 15 years, 5 months, but cannot receive their permits until the age of 15 years, 6 months.
Each class session is four hours in length. Classes need not be taken in consecutive order, but the student must attend each of the six sessions to complete the classroom portion of the program . Therefore, a student may begin at any session according to their schedule. The student is required by regulations of the Driver Training Department to pass a final examination upon completion of the classroom portion of instruction.
Driving sessions are scheduled individually with the student and the instructor. These driving sessions are scheduled so as not to conflict with any other activity in which the student is involved. Each student’s driving session will be based upon the student’s ability and progresses at the student’s pace. Upon completion of the classroom and driving experiences, the student will be issued a certificate of completion.
We hope this explains the drivers’ training program for Ohio and we look forward to assisting you in this once in a lifetime experience.
Please feel free to Contact Us at 937-547-3999 with any questions you may have.